Skip to main content
Topics

Colors despite color vision deficiency

By 23. May 2022No Comments

Topics

Colors despite color vision deficiency

2022-05-23

In addition to the subjective and collective perception of colors, the objective ability of each individual observer to process colors plays a role. This is limited in about 2% of all people with color vision deficiencies. If information is to be conveyed with colors, we must ensure as best as possible that the information reaches the addressee.

If, for example, the manufacturer’s mechanics are to be shown in blue overalls and the customer’s mechanics in green overalls in order to clarify responsibilities in the illustrations, these colors with instructive coding will not be perceived correctly in the case of color vision deficiency (color blindness). All the mechanics’ overalls look virtually the same to viewers with color vision deficiencies.

But how can we make sure that instructive color use is interpreted correctly?

Marco Jänicke

Safety colors according to ISO 3864 and their perception with color vision deficiency deuteranopia (a kind of color blindness)

But how can we make sure that instructive color use is interpreted correctly?

Use the web service www.coolors.co. Although this web service is primarily used to develop color harmonies, a filter for various forms of color vision deficiency can be used to understand how colors are perceived by people with color vision deficiency and to select an alternative color.

If possible, use double coding of your information, as we already know from many areas of visual communication.

  • For example, a traffic light does not only show red, yellow and green, these colors have a fixed position in the traffic light.
    Red – top
    Yellow – middle
    Green – bottom
    So a double coding with color and position.
  • Or from our field the safety signs, here we have a double coding of color and shape.
    Prohibition: Red + ring and diagonal bar
    Mandatory: Blue + circle
    Warning: yellow + triangle
    Rescue: Red or Green + Square

And when does it become quite difficult? For example, when shape and position are identical, as we can find with multicolored LEDs on many machines and devices. In such and all other cases of instructive use of color, just talk to me, we will find a solution together.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Close Menu

Skip to main content
Themen

Farben trotz Farbfehlsichtigkeit

By 23. Mai 2022No Comments

Themen

Farben trotz Farbfehlsichtigkeit

23.05.2022

Neben der subjektiven und kollektiven Wahrnehmung von Farben, spielt die objektive Möglichkeit jedes einzelnen Betrachters bei der Verarbeitung von Farben eine Rolle. Diese ist bei ca. 2% aller Menschen mit Farbfehlsichtigkeit eingeschränkt. Soll also mit Farben Information transportiert werden, müssen wir bestmöglich sicherstellen, dass die Information auch beim Adressaten ankommt.

Sollen zum Beispiel Mechaniker des Herstellers mit blauen Overalls und Mechaniker des Kunden mit grünen Overalls dargestellt werden, um in den Abbildungen zu Verantwortlichkeiten zu verdeutlichen, werden diese Farben mit instruktiver Codierung bei einer Farbfehlsichtigkeit (Farbblindheit) nicht korrekt wahrgenommen. Alle Overalls der Mechaniker sehen für Betrachter mit Farbfehlsichtigkeit praktisch gleich aus.

Aber wie können wir sicherstellen, dass instruktiver Farbeinsatz korrekt interpretiert wird?

Marco Jänicke

Sicherheitsfarben nach ISO 3864 und deren Wahrnehmung mit der Farbfehlsichtigkeit Deuteranopie (eine Art Farbenblindheit)

Aber wie können wir sicherstellen, dass instruktiver Farbeinsatz korrekt interpretiert wird?

Nutzen Sie den Webservice coolors.co. Dieser Webservice dient zwar primär, um Farbharmonien zu entwickeln, doch mit einem Filter für verschiedene Formen von Farbfehlsichtigkeit kann nachvollzogen werden, wie Farben von Personen mit Farbfehlsichtigkeit wahrgenommen werden und eine alternative Farbe gewählt werden.

Nutzen Sie, wenn möglich, eine doppelte Codierung Ihrer Information, so wie wir das schon aus vielen Bereichen der visuellen Kommunikation kennen.

  • Zum Beispiel eine Ampel zeigt nicht nur rot, gelb und grün an, sondern diese Farben haben eine feste Position in der Ampel.
    Rot – oben
    Gelb – Mitte
    Grün – unten
    Also eine doppelte Codierung mit Farbe und Position.
  • Oder aus unserem Umfeld die Sicherheitszeichen, hier haben wir eine doppelte Codierung von Farbe und Form.
    Verbot: Rot + Ring und diagonaler Balken
    Gebot: Blau + Kreis
    Warnung: Gelb + Dreieck
    Rettung: Rot oder Grün + Quadrat

Und wann wird es ganz schwierig? Zum Beispiel wenn Form und Position identisch sind, wie wir das mit mehrfarbigen LEDs an vielen Maschinen und Geräten finden können. In solchen und allen andern Fällen von instruktivem Farbeinsatz sprechen sie mich einfach an, wir finden gemeinsam eine Lösung.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Close Menu