Skip to main content
Facts

Do it like da Vinci

By 30. May 2022July 11th, 2022No Comments

Facts

Do it like da Vinci

2022-05-30

Leonardo da Vinci (1452 – 1519) is known for many things; painter, sculptor, architect, anatomist, mechanic, engineer and natural philosopher. What our branch loves him for is his technical illustrations.

These and those are well known. A very good overview is given to the modern imitator by the Codex Atlanticus. An atlas-sized (hence the name), bound collection of drawings, sketches and notes by the Italian Renaissance artist. Today, the work consists of 1119 sheets in 12 books measuring 64 × 43 cm and is part of the library collection of the Biblioteca Ambrosiana in Mailand.

Well, few of us will manage to actually browse through the collection, but everyone is able to get inspired by the Codex Atlanticus in the complete online archive.

How do we get so lucky as to be able to search the Codex completely digitally?

After da Vinci’s death, his notes went to his student Francesco Melzi and later to his son. The son, probably out of financial necessity, sold the collection in parts down to individual sheets. Fortunately, the art collector Pompeo Leoni was able to buy up large parts of the notes again in the 16th century. Leoni arranged Leonardo’s works and bound them into the first Codex Atlanticus, a book 60 cm thick.

Via small detours, for example as war booty of Napoleon, the Codex Atlanticus has been in the collection of the Ambrosian Library in Milan since 1637. In the 1960s, the codex was restored, arranged and digitized.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Close Menu

Skip to main content
Fakten

Mach’s wie da Vinci

By 30. Mai 2022Juli 11th, 2022No Comments

Fakten

Mach’s wie da Vinci

30.05.2022

Leonardo da Vinci (1452 – 1519) ist für vieles bekannt; Maler, Bildhauer, Architekt, Anatom, Mechaniker, Ingenieur und Naturphilosoph. Wofür unsere Branche ihn liebt, sind seine technischen Illustrationen.

Diese und jene sind allgemein bekannt. Einen sehr guten Überblick erhält der moderne Nacheiferer mit dem Codex Atlanticus. Einer atlasgroßen (daher der Name), gebundene Sammlung von Zeichnungen, Skizzen und Notizen des italienischen Renaissancekünstlers. Das Werk besteht heute aus 1119 Blättern in 12 Bänden im Format 64 × 43 cm und befindet sich im Bestand der Biblioteca Ambrosiana in Mailand.
Nun, den wenigsten von uns wird es gelingen tatsächlich in der Sammlung zu blättern, aber jedem ist es möglich, sich im vollständigen Online-Archiv den Codex Atlanticus inspirieren zu lassen.

Wie kommen wir zu dem Glück, den Codex vollständig digital durchsuchen zu können?

Nach dem Tod da Vincis gingen dessen Aufzeichnungen an seinen Schüler Francesco Melzi und später an seinen Sohn. Dieser verkaufte, wohl aus Geldnot, die Sammlung in Teilen bis hin zu einzelnen Blättern. Zum Glück konnte der Kunstsammler Pompeo Leoni noch im 16. Jahrhundert große Teile der Aufzeichnungen wieder zusammenkaufen. Leoni ordnete Leonardos Arbeiten und band sie zum ersten Codex Atlanticus, einem Buch mit 60 cm Dicke.

Über kleine Umwege, zum Beispiel als Kriegsbeute Napoleons, ist der Codex Atlanticus seit 1637 im Bestand der Ambrosianischen Bibliothek in Mailand. In den 1960er Jahren wurde der Codex restauriert, geordnet und digitalisiert.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Close Menu