Skip to main content
Facts

Symbol decrypted?

By 7. January 2022May 30th, 2022No Comments

Facts

Symbol decrypted?

2022-01-07

Guest article by Maike Jänicke, Leipzig

Technical illustrations are supposed to convey content (messages). Graffiti should also convey messages (content). In a good technical illustration, the content can be understood by the addressee depending from the context. In graffiti it is rather difficult to get at the explicit or implicit message of the writer.

A current phenomenon is the graffiti of a yellow toilet paper roll, which stretches once across Leipzig.

  • A writer passing through?
  • Why a yellow toilet paper roll?
  • An iconic symbol?
  • A metaphorical symbol?
  • Still a statement or already a cry for help?

Google Maps map with interactive locations and linked images.

We know neither the background nor the message of the graffiti. But as in Technical Illustration, we start automatically with the processing of consciously viewed images. So what do we see? The color yellow, for glow, radiance, cheerfulness and optimism. Toilet paper, usually rather little respected, highly valued only in certain situations. Who now sharply combined, everything in a temporal context and believes to recognize a massage, I must disappoint. The graffiti are created before all 2020.

In the end, a graffito is art (street art) and you take it as it is. Technical illustrations are not art. Here should be understood and not interpreted. Graffiti, on the other hand, is art for some viewers, but for many simply vandalism. Even the process of creating a graffiti can be part of the message. This is certainly not the case with technical illustrations.

So we take it sporty and go together on the hunt for the graffiti of a yellow toilet paper roll. Have you found one, then I would be happy about a short mail with the picture and GPS data: info@bravecroc.com 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Close Menu

Skip to main content
Fakten

Symbol entschlüsselt?

By 7. Januar 2022No Comments

Fakten

Symbol entschlüsselt?

07.01.2022

Gastbeitrag von Maike Jänicke, Leipzig

Technischen Illustrationen sollen Inhalte (Aussagen) vermitteln. Messages (Inhalte) sollen auch Graffitis transportieren. In einer guten Technischen Illustration ist der Inhalt kontextabhängig für den Adressaten entschlüsselbar. In Graffiti es ist eher schwer an die explizite oder implizite Aussage des Writers heranzukommt.

Ein Phänomen sind aktuell die Graffiti einer gelbe Toilettenpapierrolle, die sich einmal quer durch Leipzig ziehen.

  • Ein Writer auf der Durchreise?
  • Warum gerade eine gelbe Toilettenpapierrolle?
  • Ein ikonisches Symbol?
  • Ein metaphorisches Symbol?
  • Noch Statement oder schon Hilferuf?

Google Maps Karte mit interaktiven Standorten und verknüpften Bildern.

Wir kennen weder Hintergrund noch Message der Graffiti. Aber wie in der Technischen Illustration beginnen wir auch hier automatische mit der Verarbeitung von bewusst betrachteten Bildern. Also was sehen wir? Die Farbe Gelb, für Leuchten, Strahlen, Heiterkeit und Optimismus. Toilettenpapier, meist eher wenig geachtet, nur in bestimmten Situationen hochgeschätzt. Wer jetzt scharf kombinierter, alles in einen zeitlichen Kontext setzt und glaubt eine Massage zu erkennen, den muss ich enttäuschen. Die Graffitis sind vor alle 2020 entstanden.

Am Ende ist ein Graffito Kunst (Streetart) und die nimmt man so wie sie ist. Technische Illustrationen sind keine Kunst. Hier soll verstanden und nicht interpretiert werden. Graffiti hingegen ist für einige Betrachter Kunst, aber für viele schlicht Vandalismus. Schon der Erstellungsprozess kann bei einem Graffito Teil der Message sein. Bei Technischer Illustrationen ist das sicher nicht der Fall.

Also nehmen wir es sportlich und gehen gemeinsam auf die Jagd nach dem Graffiti einer gelben Toilettenpapierrolle. Haben Sie eins gefunden, dann würde ich mich über eine kurze Mail mit dem Bild und GPS-Daten freuen: info@bravecroc.de

Print Friendly, PDF & Email