Skip to main content
Facts

Symbols for Tokyo 2020

By 2. February 2020November 25th, 2020No Comments

Facts

Symbols for Tokyo 2020

2020-02-02

Japan has redesigned its symbols for public information. Numerous symbols in train stations and airports have been adapted and others have been added. A commission of experts from the public and private sectors worked on this for over a year. The new symbols have been in force since July 2017 (JIS 8210). By 2019, i.e. in time for the 2020 Summer Games in Tokyo, the changeover should be completed in public places.

7 symbols have been adapted exactly to ISO 7010, for example the symbols for parking, baggage claim and first aid. For these meanings, Japan used its own symbols until now. In addition, 16 new symbols have been introduced, which reveal much about the country’s zeitgeist and preferences. For example, Japan now has symbols for minimarkets, vending machines and bicycle rental.

In one case, the redesign has caused a great deal of controversy. For the Onsen symbol, the intention was to complement the traditionally used sign, three curved vertical lines in a circle, with three bathing figures. For not a few foreigners thought of the previously used symbol as a hot soup rather than a relaxing bath fed by natural hot springs. However, the renewal provoked resistance from the Onsen operators. The criticism was that they were giving up a tradition that goes back to the 17th century. The Ministry of Economics took the concerns seriously and allowed the new and old variants to be used.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Close Menu

Skip to main content
Fakten

Symbole für Tokio 2020

By 2. Februar 2020August 7th, 2020No Comments

Fakten

Symbole für Tokio 2020

02.02.2020

Japan hat seine Symbole zur Information der Öffentlichkeit einem Rede­sign unter­zo­gen. Zahl­rei­che Sym­bo­le in Bahn­hö­fen und Flug­hä­fen wur­den ange­passt und ande­re neu hin­zu­ge­fügt. Über ein Jahr hat eine Exper­ten­kom­mis­si­on aus dem öffent­li­chen und pri­va­ten Sek­tor dar­an gear­bei­tet. Seit Juli 2017 sind die neu­en Sym­bo­le nun in Kraft (JIS 8210). Bis 2019, also noch recht­zei­tig vor den Som­mer­spie­len 2020 in Tokio, soll die Umstel­lung in den öffent­li­chen Orten voll­zo­gen sein.

7 Symbole wurden exakt der ISO 7010 ange­passt, zum Bei­spiel die Symbole für Park­platz, Gepäck­an­nah­me und Ers­te Hilfe. Für die­se Bedeu­tun­gen ver­wen­de­te Japan bis­lang eige­ne Sym­bo­le. Außerdem hat man 16 neue Sym­bo­le ein­ge­führt, die viel über den Zeit­geist und die Vor­lie­ben des Lan­des ver­ra­ten. So gibt es in Japan nun Sym­bo­le für Mini­märk­te, Geträn­ke­au­to­ma­ten und Fahrradver­leih.

Das Rede­sign hat in einem Fall eine große Kon­tro­ver­se aus­ge­löst. Für das Onsen-Sym­bol woll­te man das tra­di­tio­nell gebräuch­li­che Zei­chen, drei geschwun­ge­ne ver­ti­ka­le Lini­en in einem Kreis, mit drei baden­den Figu­ren ergän­zen. Denn nicht weni­ge Aus­län­der dach­ten beim bis­lang gebräuch­li­chen Symbol eher an eine heiße Sup­pe als an ein beru­hi­gen­des Bad, dass von natürlichen heißen Quellen gespeist wird. Doch bei den Onsen-Betrei­bern lös­te die Erneue­rung Wider­stand aus. Man gebe damit eine Tra­di­ti­on auf, die bis ins 17. Jahr­hun­dert zurück­rei­che, lau­te­te die Kri­tik. Das Wirt­schafts­mi­nis­te­ri­um nahm die Sor­gen ernst und ließ die Anwendung der neunen und alten Variante zu.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Close Menu